Lead Authors

Co-Lead Compendium Authors:

Deborah S. Yokoe, MD, MPH (SHEA Co-Lead)
Lisa L. Maragakis, MD, MPH (IDSA Co-Lead)

Strategies to Prevent Catheter-Associated Urinary Tract Infection (CAUTI):

Evelyn Lo, MD
Lindsay E. Nicolle, MD

Strategies to Prevent Central Line-Associated Bloodstream Infections (CLABSIs):

Jonas Marschall, MD
Leonard A. Mermel, DO, ScM

Strategies to Prevent Clostridium difficile Infection (CDI):

Erik R. Dubberke, MD, MSPH
Dale N. Gerding, MD

Strategies to Prevent Healthcare-Associated Infections through Hand Hygiene:

Katherine D. Ellingson, PhD
Janet P. Haas, PhD, RN, CIC

Strategies to Prevent Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA):

David P. Calfee, MD, MS
Cassandra D. Salgado, MD, MS

Strategies to Prevent Surgical Site Infections (SSIs):

Deverick J. Anderson, MD, MPH
Keith S. Kaye, MD, MPH

Strategies to Prevent Ventilator-Associated Pneumonia (VAP):

Sean M. Berenholtz, MD, MHS
Michael Klompas, MD, MPH

Expert Panel:

Neil O. Fishman, MD
Donald A. Goldmann, MD
John A. Jernigan, MD, MS
Trish M. Perl, MD, MSc
Edward J. Septimus, MD
Robert A. Weinstein, MD

Thanks to the individuals who reviewed the Compendium articles, in particular the members of the SHEA Guidelines Committee. We appreciate their work and careful consideration to ensure the quality of the 2014 Compendium updates.

Advisory Panel and Full Author List

Compendium Advisory Panel:

Eve Humphreys, MBA, CAE (SHEA)
Valerie Deloney, MBA (SHEA)
Kristina Bryant, MD (SHEA Guidelines Committee chair)
Jennifer Padberg, MPH (IDSA)
Nancy Foster (AHA)
Katrina Crist, MBA (APIC)
Tom Weaver, DMD (APIC)
Kelly Podgorny, DNP, MS, RN (The Joint Commission)
Margaret VanAmringe, MHS (The Joint Commission)
Robert Wise, MD (The Joint Commission)
David Classen, MD, MS (2008 Compendium co-lead)


Evelyn Lo, MD (section co-lead)
Lindsay E. Nicolle, MD (section co-lead)
Susan E. Coffin, MD, MPH
Carolyn Gould, MD, MS
Jennifer Meddings, MD, MSc
David A. Pegues, MD
Ann Marie Pettis, RN, BSN, CIC
Sanjay Saint, MD, MPH


Erik R. Dubberke, MD, MSPH (section co-lead)
Dale N. Gerding, MD (section co-lead)
Philip Carling, MD
Ruth Carrico, PhD, RN, CIC
Curtis J. Donskey, MD
Vivian G. Loo, MD, MSc
L. Clifford McDonald, MD
Thomas J. Sandora, MD, MPH
David J. Weber, MD, MPH


Jonas Marschall, MD (section co-lead)
Leonard A. Mermel, DO, ScM (section co-lead)
Mohamad Fakih, MD, MPH
Lynn Hadaway, MEd, RN, BC, CRNI
Alexander Kallen, MD, MPH
Naomi P. O'Grady, MD
Ann Marie Pettis, RN, BSN, CIC
Mark E. Rupp, MD
Thomas Sandora, MD, MPH

Hand Hygiene:

Katherine Ellingson, PhD (section co-lead)
Janet Haas, PhD, RN, CIC (section co-lead)
Allison E. Aiello, PhD
Linda Kusek MPH, RN, CIC
Russell N. Olmsted, MPH, CIC
Eli Perencevich, MD, MS
Philip M. Polgreen, MD
Marin L. Schweizer, PhD
Polly Trexler, MS, CIC
Margaret VanAmringe, MHS


David P. Calfee, MD, MS (section co-lead)
Cassandra D. Salgado, MD, MS (section co-lead)
Aaron M. Milstone, MD
Anthony D. Harris, MD, MPH
David T. Kuhar, MD
Julia Moody, MS
Kathy Aureden, MS, MT, CIC
Susan S. Huang, MD, MPH


Deverick J. Anderson, MD, MPH (section co-lead)
Keith S. Kaye, MD, MPH (section co-lead)
Kelly Podgorny, DNP, MS, RN
Sandra I. Berríos-Torres, MD
Dale W. Bratzler, DO, MPH
E. Patchen Dellinger, MD
Linda Greene, RN, MPS, CIC
Ann-Christine Nyquist, MD, MSPH
Lisa Saiman, MD, MPH


Michael Klompas, MD, MPH (section co-lead)
Sean M. Berenholtz, MD, MHS (section co-lead)
Richard Branson, MSc, RRT
Eric C. Eichenwald, MD
Linda R. Greene, RN, MPS, CIC
Michael D. Howell, MD, MPH
Grace Lee, MD
Shelley S. Magill, MD, PhD
Gregory P. Priebe, MD
Kathleen Speck, MPH

Compendium Management Plans (122 KB)